June 25, 2024

Central News

at the center of it

Police high command favours South-East in movement of top officers

NIGERIA Police Force’s (NPF) high command has juggled the force hierarchy, with a remarkable feature being the plurality of names sounding southeastern-like in the list of 40 top men on parade.
Among such familiar-sounding names are eight, three at the assistant inspector-general (AIG) level and another five at the commissioner of police (CP) range even though some of those could be of Delta State extraction in south-south region.
Inspector-General of Police (IGP) Kayode Egbetokun ordered the postings and redeployments of senior police officers, comprising 14 AIGs and 26 CPs to various commands and formations across the country.
Force headquarters (FHQ), in a statement, says the exercise is part of the “mandate to ensure professionally competent, service-driven, rule of law compliant and people-friendly police force, and to reflect the new status of senior officers who were recently elevated to their next ranks.”
AIGs posted or redeployed include Ogundele Joshua Ayodeji for Zone 7, Abuja; Patrick Ogon Edung, Zone 11, Osogbo; Badru Banji Lawal, border patrol FHQ; Bartholomew N. Onyeka, Zone 8, Lokoja; Suleiman A. Yusuf, DOPS FHQ; Idowu Owohunwa, FCID Annex, Alagbon, Lagos; Rhoda Adetutu Olofu, Maritime Lagos; Godwin N. Aghaulor, Zone 13, Ukpo-Dunukofia, Awka; Effiom Emmanuel Ekot, ONSA, Abuja.
The rest of the AIGs moved or redeployed are Anene Ndu Innocent, CTU FHQ Abuja; Odama Paul Ojeka, Zone 16, Yenagoa; Ebong E. Eyibio, Zone 4, Makurdi; Adebowale Williams, Zone 17, Akure; and Sahabo A. Yahaya, Investment FHQ Abuja.
Twenty-six commissioner-level officers posted/redeployed are George Chuku, for Benue State command; Ahmed Abdullahi Tijani, Jigawa; Dan Mamman E. Shawulu, Niger; Usman Hayatu, Gombe; Danjuma Aboki, Imo; Disu Olatunji Rilwan, Rivers; Joseph Eribo, Taraba; Isyaku Mohammed, Osun; Safer Highways FHQ, Mohammed Barde; Polycarp Emeka, PPP DLS FHQ; Shehu Kabir Abubakar, Anti-Human Trafficking; and Lawal Babatunde Ayodeji, Border Patrol FHQ.
There are also CPs Emmanuel Agene, Maritime Lagos; Jude M. Azuka, Admin Air Wing; Dan Sabo Idi, commandant, Police College, Kaduna; Ibitoye Rufus Olajide, Force Provost Marshal; Adamu Ngojin Isa, INEC; Nwanosike Wodi Okocha, procurement, DLS FHQ; Johnson Oluwole Adenola, PSO to IGP; Olanrewaju Olawale Shola, PAP Western Port Lagos; Shelleng Umaru Yusuf, international investigations (INTERPOL); Emmanuel Aina, SEB FCID, Abuja; and Miller Gajere Dantawaiye, Info-Tech ICT FHQ Abuja.
The rest are CPs Henry Ifeanyi Uche, director, NPF-NCCC; Vungmoh S.M. Kwaimo, DOPS FHQ Abuja; CP Fasuba A. Olabode, commandant, Police College Ikeja.
The FHQ statement by the Force public relations officer assistant commissioner (ACP) Olumuyiwa Adejobi, says the IGP has charged the officers “to work in tandem with the force policy and support the agenda of government for economic recovery and growth as well as socio-political development of the country.”