June 8, 2024

Central News

at the center of it

Lagos legislators shock gov, reject 17 commissionership nominees

Speaker Mudashiru Obasa

Lagos State House of Assembly apparently shocked Gov. Babajide Sanwo-Olu when it rejected at least 17 nominees for commissioner, among them ex-commissioner for health, Akin Abayomi and his counterpart for information, Gbenga Omotosho.

The lawmakers, however, confirmed 22 other commissioner-nominees for the governor.

The exercise, which was done through a voice vote, was sequel to the screening of the nominees at the assembly’s Committee of the Whole at plenary.

Speaker Mudashiru Obasa, presiding said the exercise followed a rigorous and detailed screening of the nominees by an ad-hoc committee led by House chief whip Fatai Mojeed.

Obasa said the exercise was in line with S.182(I) and (ii) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 as amended.

He listed those rejected as follows: Folashade Adefisayo, Yomi Oluyomi, Folashade Ambrose, Barakat Bakare, Olalere Odusote, Rotimi Fashola, and Bolaji Dada.

Others rejected include Sam Egube, Olalekan Fatodu, Solape Hammond, Mosopefolu George, Aramide Adeyoye, Seun Osiyemi, Rotimi Ogunwuyi and Olumide Oluyinka.

Mr. Obasa then listed the 22 confirmed nominees as Layode Ibrahim, Mobolaji Ogunlende, Dolapo Fasawe, Bola Olumegbon, Idris Aregbe, Abisola Olusanya, and Moruf Fatai.

“Other nominees confirmed are Kayode Bolaji-Roberts, Abiola Olowu, Toke Benson-Awoyinka, Oreoluwa Finnih-Awokoya, Yakub Alebiosu, Lawal Pedro, and Tunbosun Alake.

“Also confirmed are Gbenga Oyerinde, Adekunle Olayinka, Jide Babatunde, Afolabi Ayantayo, Tokunbo Wahab, Olakunle Rotimi-Akodu, Jamiu Alli-Balogun and Abdulkabir Ogungbo,” the Speaker stated but offered no explanation about those rejected.

The speaker commended the committee for its effectiveness and urged the confirmed nominees to always remember that they were in office to serve the people of the state and not individuals. He also promised that the assembly would continue to do its best in the interest of the state.

Speaker Obasa, therefore, directed the clerk of the house, Lekan Onafeko, to communicate the notice of the confirmations and rejections to the governor.